Superficial

Standard

Who here will admit to being superficial? (raises hand) well if no one else will come clean I most definitely will. I can be superficial when it comes to the opposite sex. I like a guy to be taller than me and in good shape. Why? Well my thinking is that I am not a small girl. I am not fat but I am not small and I would like to feel protected. I don’t want to be walking around the corner and have to defend myself and my boyfriend from some muggers. I do have a catch though… he has to also have a nice face and that is where I can get very picky. I am trying to change my perspective a little but it’s hard to let go.

So this presented a challenge when I decided to try online dating. Very few men caught my attention and if they did they were out of my league. I need to learn to be attracted to men who are also attracted to me but I have no idea how to do that.

I did notice something on all these profiles. I know some people have been known to put fake pictures up but the men I actually met with matched their pics they just didn’t match their body type. I didn’t understand that. You do realize that if you are on a dating site usually your goal is to eventually meet someone face to face. So what happens when you meet someone who wasn’t completely honest online?

The first guy I met had athletic and toned as a body description on his profile. When I went to meet him and I saw him walking towards me I just kept thinking “please don’t let it be him” of course it was and he looked like he was 4 months pregnant. The second guy I got in touch with told me point blank “I hate it when people lie about how they look, why can’t they just be honest?” Really?! When I met this one he was skinny and also had a tummy. I just didn’t get it, why would you start a potential relationship with a lie? I’ve seen some big men describe themselves as athletic and toned and I just have to roll my eyes. Be honest! Especially if you’re looking for something serious. I promise I ‘ll respect you a lot more if you do.

I am want to squash my superficialness but it’s difficult for me. I think it’s because I know that if I am not attracted to someone I am just never going to have those feelings. I am trying to not be so picky when it comes to height but for some reason I can’t budge on the body. What is that saying? Beauty comes from the inside…agreed but you also have to be attracted to the person you’re with so that the inner beauty will shine even more. Does that make sense? Maybe I just need to go to therapy. In the back of my mind I also do think about making my friends jealous since it would make quite a statement. That thought doesn’t drive me but I do think about it from time to time especially since I am not the type to have a lot of bfs.

So are we superficial just because we are picky or do we secretly want to make our friends jealous by dating the hot guy?

Don’t rely on men to make you happy (easier said than done) and I definitely need to go back to therapy.

Leave a Reply

