Scary Movies

Standard

Happy Halloween!

I have never been to crazy about Halloween. Of course I went trick or treating when I was little but I outgrew it very quickly. The last time I wore a costume was about five years ago for a Halloween party and I only went in costume because it was mandatory.

What I do like about Halloween are the scary movies, although I cant watch them as much as I used to. When I was younger for some reason the movies I watched didn’t phase me. It’s a different story now…. my imagination runs wild.

I remember when I was about 18 I went to the movies with a friend of mine. We ended up watching Darkness Falls. It’s this movie about a woman who used to act as the tooth fairy to the kids in the town Darkness Falls. One day two kids go missing and the town blames this woman and burn down her house. She ends up getting bad burns on her face and has to wear a mask during the day. When the kids aren’t found she is hung by the townspeople and she vows to avenge her death.

Years later it is shown that she still haunts the town. She will swap your tooth for a quarter but if you look at her she kills you and the only thing she wont come near is the light.

This movie scared the crap out of me. I really wanted to know what happened but the noises that thing made plus the fact that we were watching the damn movie at around 10: 30 pm didn’t help cause guess what? It was dark!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Tb2csMKcW0

We basically decided to get the hell out of there and we went to watch another movie called  The Hot Chick. It was very light and funny. It was about a male criminal and a female teenage cheerleader switching bodies.

It didn’t work!! On the way home I asked my friend if she wanted to spend the night but she passed ( I was thinking “I am in deep shit”). I had this sense of dread overcome me when I parked in front of my house. All the lights were off (double shit) and I just didn’t want to go in. I took a deep breath and got out of the car and briskly made my way into the dark house. Took the steps two at a time and turned on all the lights in my room and changed. Made my way down to the basement and turned all the lights on there as well and just watched T.V while looking at the door every once in a while to make sure she wasn’t there (what was I going to do if she was there anyway). I stayed up until the sun came up around 6 am and then I went to bed. I still watch the movie when it comes on T.V but it doesn’t scare me as much (its been 10 years).

For a long time I was obsessed with I Still Know What You Did Last Summer. I would watch it over and over again but I think it was because I was attracted to one of the main characters. Once my crush wore off so did the film.

So why do we watch these scary movies when we know it’s just going to make us fidgety, paranoid and nervous? I watch them because my curiosity gets the best of me and I need to know how they kill the murderer or how they vanquish the evil spirit. Why do you watch them? (just getting the pics and clip for this post made me a little antsy)

Leave a Reply

